Skip to main content

Voter registration deadline Friday

September 29, 2010

Residents have just two and a half days left to register to vote for the Nov. 2 general election.
Prospective voters may register at the Circuit Clerk’s Office in the Oktibbeha County Courthouse Annex 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today and Friday.
The Circuit Clerk’s Office will be open from 8 a.m. to noon Saturday for a final registration opportunity.
State law mandates that voters be registered at least 30 days prior to an election.
“Residents who have recently moved to the county and are not registered voters have until Oct. 2 at noon to register in the clerk’s office or one can obtain a mail-in voter registration form and will be registered using this form as long as it is postmarked to our office by Oct. 2,” said Circuit Clerk Angie McGinnis.
Those voters needing to update their registration information for a name or address change are also encouraged also do so at the Circuit Clerk’s Office by Oct. 2, McGinnis said.
“Since we live in a time when technology is the name of the game, one sometimes assumes that if they change their address at the post office, tax office or other places that this also affects their voter registration record but this is not the case so add your voter registration to the list of things to be done when you have a move or a name change,” McGinnis said.
On the ballot locally are two races (District 2 and At-Large) for the Oktibbeha County School District Board of Trustees, as well as those Circuit Court and Chancery Court judge and for the U.S. House of Representatives.
Here’s a breakdown of the candidates in each race on the general election ballot in Oktibbeha County:
U.S. House of
Third Congressional
• Joel L. Gill, Democrat
• Gregg Harper, Republican
• Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill, Reform
Chancery Court Judge
14th Chancery District
• Kenneth M. Burns
• Jim Davidson
• Dorothy W. Colom
Circuit Court Judge
16th Circuit District
Place 1
• James T. “Jim” Kitchens
• William Starks
Place 2
• Lee J. Howard
Place 3
• Lee S. Coleman
• Bob Marshall
• Nebra Porter
Oktibbeha County School District
Board of Trustees
District 2 Seat
• Curtis Snell
• Marvin L. Williams
At-Large Seat
• Melvin Harris
• Yvette Rice
Absentee voting for the general election began Monday.
For more information registering to vote or absentee voting for this year’s election, the Circuit Clerk’s Office may be reached by calling 323-1356 during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) Monday to Friday.
The office is located in the Oktibbeha County Courthouse Annex on West Main Street.

Latest Videos

Tanner Fant of Starkville , Miss. will travel to Mobile, Ala. on Sunday, June 14 to participate in the 58th...
Drinking a beverage that tastes delicious and has good nutritional value is like having your cake and eating it, too.
Pasta, bread, pizza crusts, peanut butter, fried foods, beef, even certain types of chips — these are all foods that...
The memories of April 21, 2008 when we went to the Boston Marathon still lingered in our hearts and souls on April 15...
Emily Jones Deluded Diva My neighbor, (I'll call her Brenda for the sake of anonymity), is one of the best things that...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes