Skip to main content

Absentee voting for special election to end

January 7, 2011

SDN Staff Reports

Absentee voting for a Jan. 11 special election for the Northern District seat on the Mississippi Transportation Commission is set to end this weekend.
The special election is being held to find fill the unexpired term of Bill Minor, who passed away several weeks ago.
Seven candidates have qualified to seek the position. They are listed as follows:
• John M.M. Caldwell Sr.
• Dennis C. Grisham.
• Joey Hood.
• Larry Lee.
• Warner McBride.
• Ray Minor.
• Mike Tagert.
All seven candidates are on ballots for all of Oktibbeha County’s 21 voting precincts. In addition to Oktibbeha County, voters in 30 other north Mississippi counties will vote in the race.
If no one candidate receives a majority of the votes cast on Jan. 11, a runoff will be held on Feb. 1. The top two vote-getters on Jan. 11 will advance to the runoff.
All voters will be able to go to the polls if they are registered at least 30 days before the election, McGinnis said.
“This election does include the entire county,” said McGinnis on Wednesday.
Absentee ballots for the special election may be cast at the Circuit Clerk’s Office in the Oktibbeha County Courthouse Annex on today from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon.
In order to vote absentee, residents must meet one of the following conditions as set forth in state law:
• The voter is an enlisted or commissioned member of any component of the U.S. Armed Forces and a citizen of Mississippi, or spouse of dependent of a such a member.
• The voter is a member of the Merchant Marine or the American Red Cross and is a citizen of Mississippi, or spouse of dependent of a such a member.
• The voter is a disabled war veteran who is a patient in any hospital or is a citizen of Mississippi, or spouse of dependent of a such a member.
• The voter is a civilian attached to and serving outside the U.S. with any branch of the armed forces, Merchant Marine or Red Cross, and is a citizen of Mississippi, or spouse of dependent of a such a member.
• The voter is a citizen of Mississippi temporarily living outside the territorial limits of the United States and District of Columbia.
• The voter is a citizen of Mississippi enrolled as a student at a U.S. Military Academy.
• The voter is a student, teacher or administrator and a college, university, junior college, high school, junior high school or elementary school whose studies or employment necessitate the absence from the county of his or her voting residency.
• The voter will be outside the county on election day.
• The voter is age 65 and older.
• The voter is the parent, spouse or dependent on someone with a temporary or permanent physical disability who is hospitalized outside his county of residence more than 50 miles away and will be with that person on election day.
• The voter is a member of the congressional delegation or spouse or dependent of a member of the congressional delegation.
• The voter is required to be at work on election day during the times the polls will be open.
For more information on the runoff election, call the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 323-1356.

Latest Videos

Tanner Fant of Starkville , Miss. will travel to Mobile, Ala. on Sunday, June 14 to participate in the 58th...
Drinking a beverage that tastes delicious and has good nutritional value is like having your cake and eating it, too.
Pasta, bread, pizza crusts, peanut butter, fried foods, beef, even certain types of chips — these are all foods that...
The memories of April 21, 2008 when we went to the Boston Marathon still lingered in our hearts and souls on April 15...
Emily Jones Deluded Diva My neighbor, (I'll call her Brenda for the sake of anonymity), is one of the best things that...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes